Skip to content

Balance, Spring, Nonsense

May 4, 2010

I haven’t felt like I have anything really interesting to say lately.  We got a dog, so I’ve been focused on that addition to our lives.  Training and petting and walking and pooping and peeing.  I never thought I would be so happy to get to pick up poop, but when she goes it is good.  Yes, very good baby preparation.  I’m trying to work exercise in to my life and on top of that managing an injury that has sidelined my running and any running like motions, so basically all other exercises.

But don’t take this the wrong way.  I’m happy.  I’m also sad, and processing the anxiety and sadness and ennui this time of year produces.  Balance is Spring for me.  Happiness at the changing season, I love Spring.  Sadness at the reminder of my dead Dad.  I planted seeds on Sunday, and then almost couldn’t get out of bed because I was sad thinking of my loss.  Balance.  I got up and watered the grass seed so it will sprout in to a new lawn.  Renewal.  It is beautiful.  The lilacs are almost done blooming.  I picked a boquet of them from an abandoned house down the block with Mom last weekend.  I felt bad and good and they filled the house with such a powerful fragrance I could have been yelled at taking them and I wouldn’t have minded to get that aroma.  Dad loved lilacs.

This post doesn’t make sense.  Maybe I’m not making much sense lately.  But I’m living, I’m plodding along and I’m happy.

Happy Spring.

Leave a Reply

