Skip to content

Men and Ice Cream

August 17, 2010

Maybe it is aging, maybe it is growing a baby inside me, maybe it is just a cycle I’m going through, maybe it was all the extrovert activities and needing some recharging time for my inner introvert.  I found myself on Sunday, just craving time with Matt, I didn’t want to be with anyone else, just with him, doing just about anything that didn’t involve socializing.  I just want to spend time with the person I chose to spend the rest of my life with.

Some people, they choose a partner who will fit in well with their social life, someone who can be on their arm, who can tell a good story and be a good listener.  Others, they choose someone who also has an active life and will be a good person to come home to at the end of a busy week and share a drink with.  People are fulfilled in relationships for many different reasons.  I hear stories of couples who live hours apart for years for the sake of their careers and that works for them.

I chose Matt because he is someone I want to be with, all the time.  Sure I like to socialize with him, sure I have fun going out with others and always love coming home to him.

But on a rainy Sunday night when we sat down at a linoleum table in a Baskin Robins/Dunkin Donuts on Glen Cove road and smiled at each other over ice creams cones I really could not have been happier with my life, how I’ve chosen to live it and who I chose to share it with, and I thought to myself, this is what it is about for me.

The ice cream was pretty good too.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 10:30 pm

    this is exactly how i feel about my husband too. and congrats on your pregnancy! i’m 25 weeks :)))

Leave a Reply

