Skip to content

Yoga and Swimming

August 30, 2010

Dominique Browning really captures it perfectly in this post: http://www.slowlovelife.com/2010/08/floating-meditation.html
That is why I love swimming and yoga. I focus on my breathing and in that focus I am meditating. I find it very hard to ever truly clear my mind and in the rhythmic breathing of swimming and the deep poses of yoga I am clear and I haven’t even thought about it (the trick).
I’ve never been that good at floating, but I am good at laying in or near water (perhaps a solid raft or a comfy deck chair), and I find that even in those moments I can clear my mind and just breathe. Breathe in the summer air, the sun beating down on my skin.
The first Yoga class I went to I immediately connected with the breath and how powerful it was to just breathe and flow through poses, it is why I kept going back, that and how rejuvenated I felt after. The breath washed my day away, washed any anxieties and anger. It was how I was able to find my way positively out of a job that wasn’t right for me and in to one that was.
Just breathe.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kiwi permalink
    August 31, 2010 2:59 am

    You captured swimming perfectly! I too have found swimming to help me make major decisions, step by step.

Leave a Reply

