Skip to content

Books, Reading, Kindle?

September 7, 2011

Towards the end of pregnancy I wasn’t really reading fiction, I was soaking up books on labor, child raising, researching toys and equipment, getting prepared for breastfeeding.  During maternity leave I had no time to read for pleasure, wait, actually, I had no desire, I was too tired to read anything, all I could do was stare at my Emilio’s sleeping face, sleep with him or zone out to trash TV.  I watched a lot of Say Yes to the Dress, Super Nanny, Hoarders, Keeping up with the Kardashians, etc.

When I first returned to work, I carried a book around with me for the first month, but the trains were used for sleeping as I was still only getting little chunks, 3 hours at the most, of sleep.

When I finished my first post-partum book, “American Wife”, I was quite pleased with myself and welcomed my reader self back happily.  Now, I’m back in the grove, lapping up good and bad (read: chick lit) fiction and excited to continue to add to my list of completed books.  Fun fact, my Mom kept (keeps?) a list of books she’s read.  As a list lover that makes me happy, and I kind of wish I’d started that at some point, too far gone now to do it, but how fun to be able to go back and look at the list of books you’ve read in a lifetime?  Maybe that’s what bookshelves are for, but I tend to pass on and let books I’ve read keep moving through new hands and new eyes.

I’ve never really considered an e-reader.  I love the feel of a book in my hand, I like the weight of it, I like flipping to the back, counting down the pages and knowing the end is coming soon.  I like holding the book when I’ve completed it, closing that last page and saying, “I’m done!”

But, I see so many people with them, and I kind of have tech lust.  I like the idea of the e-reader, how portable and light, how you can have a few books going at once, and you can read magazines there too.  I look how much I can pack in to one little device.  I don’t think I’d quite give up books, but I’m interested in exploring both e and paper.

Not that I’ll be making the move anytime soon, but when I saw today that BzzAgent has a Kindle campaign and they’re seeking people with an interest to submit to it, I thought, “why not?”  I’m back in the saddle, so why not look to take my reading to the next level?

Oh, and by the way, I’m a bzzAgent.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

