Skip to content

Anti-List List

November 25, 2011

Last year, at this time I was pregnant. My mind was full of many things, and for the first time I wasn’t with my Mom for Thanksgiving. It was an interesting holiday. If I’m honest, it wasn’t my best Thanksgiving. So this year didn’t have too much to live up to, and it happily exceeded expectations.
I’ve been with various family since Tuesday evening, Emilio got two thanksgiving meals with us and his first taste of pie, My brother and his wife to be are here, we’ve got lots of days of family time ahead of us and it feels good.
As I sit here with Emilio drifting off to sleep, I’m thinking about being thankful and lists.
I’m realizing that displaying your lists is a little self indulgent and a lot of the “same old same old” with some hidden agenda and a little your not telling the whole story. Am I right?
Obviously I’m most thankful for the amazing joyous gift of my son. Not everyone can get pregnant easily or at all, not everyone had easy full term pregnancies and certainly not everyone gets easy babies. I got all that. And more.
But, at the risk of not being very poetic about this business I’m also immensely thankful that Matt and I both have well paying jobs. Besides my Son, that’s what I’m most thankful for. We can not only pay our bills and save, but we can live comfortably too. That’s saying something in this economy.

I would be remiss to not mention one more thing that I’m thankful for everyday, that’s always at the top of the list, and that I talk about often (like the two above).  I’m forever grateful for Matt, for our relationship, for having a partner that is truly that.  For having a partner I grow more in love with over the years.  For having found someone that balances me, gives in to me, and keeps me honest.

I’m one lucky woman, and damn I know it.

Happy Thanksgiving

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

