Skip to content

Wind in the new year

January 1, 2012

We stopped to sit and watch the ocean while Emilio slept. On our way to an afternoon celebration of 2012 which fittingly falls this year in January 1st, it was a happy detour. Take in the New Year watching waves. I got out to walk Khadijah, the unseasonably warm air greeted me, the sun bright and welcoming. A gust of strong wind pressed into us as we circled the lot. I looked in to it. There was blue sky, wisps of clouds and the sun. The new year, blowing against me, bearing in to me.
I thought about 2011, my resolutions then and now. I thought about where I am heading in to this year, I thought about Dad and realizing tomorrow would be his 60th birthday.
Khadijah pushed in to the wind, her ears perking at the world working around us, her fur blowing back from her face.
She stopped, unmoving, listening, as we turned a corner. I stopped too, taking in the moment. I resolved in 2011 to be a good mother, to balance it all. I did it.
My husband and son were holding hands, both with their eyes closed, when I got back to the car.
Happy New Year.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 1:37 am

    Hey Adrienne, I am interested. I read Blogging Baby all the time, and just tried to comment on your question earlier today–but I couldn’t figure out how to do it on that blog. Is it me, or is it hard to find?
    Anyway, I love hearing about Emilio (can’t wait to meet him sometime) and would also love to hear more about your life as a whole person. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

